Writing Papers as a Corporate Employee

I worked as a researcher at my previous company for about 10 years, and I enjoyed writing papers and presenting at conferences. One of the reasons that made me seriously consider changing jobs was the possibility of not being able to write papers anymore when I moved to a new company. Although I was a researcher, I only had a master’s degree and hadn’t pursued a Ph.D. Furthermore, since my previous company was a defense industry company, writing papers wasn’t always a straightforward process. Looking back now, I realize that my love for writing papers made me somewhat unique. I had a total of 21 papers published during the 10 years, including cases where I was the primary author as well as co-author. These publications encompassed conference papers and journal articles. As I started a blog, I wanted to discuss these papers and share my experiences related to them. While I acknowledge that the academic value of these papers may be limited, I thought that the concept of “writing papers as a company employee” could be perceived as unique and interesting by some readers.

I have found it challenging to find consistent examples of individuals with a Master’s degree who have consistently published research papers in companies rather than government-funded research institutes, regardless of the research topic. I hope to be recognized and acknowledged for this achievement, considering the fact that it is quite difficult to accomplish.

In this blog, research papers are categorized under the Publication menu.

When you click on each paper, instead of being directed to the paper’s link, a page similar to the blog will open, allowing me to share additional insights about each paper. For example, I have written a post about the first paper, which was also my final paper before switching jobs, titled WING DEPLOYMENT SIMULATION USING 2-WAY FLUID STRUCTURE INTERACTION METHOD. You can read the post by following this link.

This paper was published in January 2020. Since I switched jobs in January 2021, it means that I was actively publishing papers until just a year before my career transition. This paper, written during the twilight of my research career at my previous company, personally symbolizes my dedication and best efforts until the very end. Typically, after completing a master’s or Ph.D., researchers join research institutes where they spend around 4 to 5 years writing various papers. During this time, they maintain communication with their graduate school peers and professors, but at some point, they may realize that their corporate life and research are not closely related, gradually transitioning into being ordinary company employees. However, this paper, which I wrote as the primary author and was published in an academic journal, came during my 11th year in the company! It was a very challenging experience that I remember vividly.

김종록

현재 삼성 SDS에서 클라우드 엔지니어로 활동하고 있습니다.

Next
Previous